Wk 5 – Activity – Ethnography

IMG_0541

This weeks activity was definitely on the more difficult side. This week we were told to go one night without using any electricity at all, to the best of our ability. I chose to do my night of no electricity on Thursday night. I chose Thursday night because I still had school the next day so I didn’t have plans to go out that night anyways. And I would’ve much rather finished my night of no electricity on a night that I was going to spend at home rather than a night that I wanted to go out with my friends, which would practically make the whole ‘no electricity’ thing impossible.

So I chose to stay in my room for the night because I felt like that would be the easiest place where I could control having no electricity. At first I considered staying in my living room because it’s more spacious, but then I realized that it would be too hard not using electricity if my family members were constantly roaming around and using electricity in the neighboring rooms.

I began my night in the late evening when the sun was still up so I could still get some stuff done. I spent my time working on homework and readings for my other classes. This was easy to do while the sun was still up, but when the sun started setting I just lit some candles and placed them around my room. Luckily I’m a big candle fanatic so I had plenty. Homework kept me occupied for a couple hours but after I finished my work I was a little stuck on what I could do next. Without any electricity my options were very limited, so I started to clean and organize my room. This was also able to keep me occupied for at least an hour, and by the time I finished it was around 9 o’clock PM. I was actually pretty satisfied looking around at my newly cleaned room. It’s not very often that I get the chance to deeply clean my room, like wiping down tables and the floor. But now that I finished cleaning my room I was once again out of things to do. I was pretty bored for a while and I just sat down on my bed with my dog, still trying to think of other things that I could do. I was pretty stumped at this point and decided to just call it a night. I already usually go to sleep pretty early, around 10 PM, so it wasn’t that strange or hard for me to fall asleep.

This assignment made me realize how much our world depends on technology and electricity today. Attempting to go a night without electricity left me with pretty much nothing to do. Before I started the activity I already knew it would be a difficult one, and after I started it I realized it was even harder than I imagined it to be. I found myself missing my phone and wishing I could check my messages or my social media. I found myself wishing I could click on my tv or listen to some music. But I guess overall this was a pretty good activity because it forced me to get my stuff done, such as homework and cleaning my room.

Leave a Reply

