Wk 6 – Activity – Identity Art

IMG_0574To be honest, when I first heard about this week’s activity I wasn’t too thrilled about it. The idea of live broadcasting myself to a bunch of strangers all around the world, where they can see my face but I can’t see them, really weirded me out. I imagined it to be like most other online chatting type of websites and apps and I was expecting it to either be 1) a bunch of creepers and weird people online or 2) no one even watching my broadcast. However to my surprise, I was wrong about both of my worries. Just as Bree stated in lecture, there is always someone viewing your broadcast. And also, the viewers were all so friendly and not creepy at all! Well actually, there were a couple people who kind of weirded me out because they kept asking if they could see my feet. But I wasn’t too extremely creeped out, I got a good laugh out of it.

I also thought the idea of random strangers viewing other random stranger’s broadcasts IMG_0588was pretty weird as well. Especially because most people don’t really broadcast anything all that exciting. But after I started watching other people’s broadcasts I kind of understood why people watch. I watched some guys from Italy and although they weren’t doing anything, it was pretty entertaining just listening to their accents and their language. They also didn’t speak any English and they were speaking Italian the whole time so I had no idea what they were saying but it was still cool to listen. Since I got over not being able to understand what they were saying, I decided to switch over to a broadcast that was in Los Angeles. I watched a girl broadcast about putting different Halloween costumes on her dog, which was definitely my favorite broadcast out of the bunch that I watched.

IMG_0590Lastly, out of the few classmate broadcasts I watched my favorite was definitely Judy Phan. Her’s was the most interesting broadcast to view in my opinion because she’s already one of my friends from outside of class so I had more fun watching someone that I personally know. Judy showed me and the other viewers around her backyard. I took a screenshot that I thought would be funny of her with a grapefruit tree in her backyard. She also showed us a really cool Buddhist statue that she has in her backyard, that is accompanied by a little spot to meditate on. Her backyard also has a bonfire pit! Her backyard seems like such a cool and fun place to be in, no wonder she decided to share it with the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

